Print Logo
0800 665 888

America's Cup Team: Emirates Team New Zealand

Emirates Team New Zealand is based in Auckland, New Zealand and represents the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron in the America's Cup. The team was founded in 1993. In 1995 under Sir Peter Blake they won the America's Cup for the first time and sucessfully defended it in 2000. Under the skipper Glenn Ashby Emirates Team New Zealand won back the 'Auld Maug' in 2017 and will now defend it in 2021 in Auckland, New Zealand.

America's Cup 2017 Emirates Team New Zealand winning the Auld Mug trophy

(last updated: 08/2018. This is the last known crew, the new one for the upcoming America's Cup is yet to be announced.)

Skipper & Sailing Team Director

  • Glenn Ashby


  • Nick Burridge (Boat Captain & Rigger)
  • Peter Burling (Helmsman)


  • Blair Tuke (Foils & Cyclist)


  • Chris Hornell (On Water Operations)
  • Gilberto Nobili (Performance Analyst & Cyclist)

America's Cup 2017, Team NZ Boat & Flags


  • Sam Bell
  • Andy Maloney
  • Carlo Huisman
  • Guy Endean
  • Joe Sullivan
  • Josh Junior
  • Simon van Velthooven


  • Ray Davies
  • Rod Davies (Match Race)
  • Murray Jones (Performance Coach)

Emirates Team New Zealand website

Photos: courtesy of Emirates Team New Zealand